问题解答

高貴林學區內學校開放時間為何時?

高貴林學區的公立學校從九月份至六月份為開放時間。我們的學校在春季關閉一個星期(春假),冬季關閉兩個星期(聖誕假期),七月份和八月份關閉兩個月(暑假)。

我是否必須說流利的英語才可以在高貴林學區內上學?

不需要,高貴林學區的國際學生無需流利的英語水平,然而對語言的一定理解將使你更容易過渡到加拿大的生活。我們為國際學生提供ESL學習支持。

我將住在什麼地方?

希望安置在家庭中的學生將求助於“寄宿家庭”服務機構,該機構對高貴林地區內的家庭進行審核篩選。

我將在哪所學校上學?

國際學生課程處將根據你發送給我們的信息資料和各學校的容納狀況選定你就讀的學校。為了確保我們有適合你的學校,盡可能早的提出申請對你最為有利。

我如何獲得學生簽證?

簽證由加拿大公民及移民部、加拿大大使館或領事館簽發。學生簽證必須在加拿大境外申請。旅遊簽證僅允許個人進行為期6個月的學習。

課程為期多久?

課程長短按照你的意願決定,直到年滿19歲為止。大部分學生來此學習兩到三年時間,而有些學生則學習一年時間。我們也有每月開課的強化ESL課程。

我可以取得不列顛哥侖比亞省高中文憑嗎?

可以,如果學生符合高中畢業的所有要求,他們將獲得不列顛哥侖比亞省高中畢業證書。

我是否享有醫療保險?

是的,課程費用的一部份包含了醫療保險費。這將為你去看病的行程和任何醫院保險項目投保。它不保障你的牙科治療,除非需要進行的治療工作是由於你抵達高貴林學區後的意外事故而發生的。

如果我暑期逗留,我能否繼續獲得醫療保險?

可以,高貴林國際學生課程要求你在計劃離開前至少提前八週提出有關你有意逗留的書面 申請。如果及時填寫所有文件,則可繼續享有醫療保險。

高貴林學區的氣候怎麼樣?

不列顛哥侖比亞省低陸平原地區,包括高貴林,具有加拿大最好的氣候條件。高貴林學區是個氣候非常溫和的社區。春季、夏季和秋季往往比較暖和(18 C-30 C),而十一月至二月期間則較冷(15 C- 5 C)。我們在這幾個月期間偶爾也會有降雪。

我如何提出申請?

若要申請長期課程,需要填寫登記表,繳納200加元的登記費並提交兩年來經公證和翻譯 的成績報告單。

我可以何時抵達?

如果你計劃九月份開始你的學業,應當在學校開學前至少提前一周時間抵達,以便習慣適應你的”寄宿家庭”並作好安排。 你的學校可能希望你在開課前參加新生情況介紹會。如果你打算在第二個學期開始你的學業,應當準備好在一月底左右抵達。

誰會來機場接我?

你的寄宿家庭或是中介機構會在機場接你。

學校是否提供課本和文具?

教科書由學校提供,但是你的學校可能會收取某些教材和活動的費用。學生應當自備筆和紙等文具。

我應該攜帶哪些物品?

除了個人用品和衣物外,學生可能會希望從家裡帶一些紀念品(照片、標記等)以表明他們來自什麼地方。

當我在高貴林學區求學期間,我的家人能否來探望我?

可以。我們鼓勵父母來看望孩子。不過建議父母至少等上兩個月的時間,讓學生可以適應 他們的新環境。希望家庭成員自行安排他們的膳宿。

在高貴林學區求學期間我可以去旅行嗎?

可以。假如學生的健康保險包含旅行,他們可以在學校放假期間在加拿大境內旅行。前往 美國旅行則需要護照和額外的旅行保險。

是否提供上下學的交通條件?

這取決於你在什麼地方上學以及你的住地距離學校有多遠。符合交通條件的學生由校車在 上午和放學後接送。個別學生利用公交系統上下學(學生自行負擔費用),而其它住在其 學校附近的學生則多以步行方式上學。

是否有可供學生享用的休閒娛樂?

有。除了許多音樂、戲劇、舞蹈、俱樂部和體育運動方面的機會外,高貴林地區內有九個 社區活動中心提供眾多活動。這些中心提供各種室內水上活動、溜冰、曲棍球、水滑梯、 體操、乒乓球、街機遊戲、電影、烹飪、繪畫、ESL趣味學習、寫作創作、讀書俱樂部、 跆拳道、空手道、舞蹈、瑜珈、負重訓練、羽毛球、籃球、足球和健身活動。

是否允許駕車?

如果學生能夠取得省駕駛執照,在自行承擔費用並獲得家長同意的情況下,他們可以向其學校申請登記他們的車輛。如果他們希望開車上學或參加學校活動,應當適用學校的一切規章制度。

我可以在畢業後就讀加拿大的大學/學院嗎?

可以,如果你有較高的成績足以滿足入學要求。在我們的課程中登記註冊至少已有三年時間的國際學生將無須填寫托福考試成績,以便獲得考慮進入不列顛哥侖比亞省的學院或大學學習。


我們的社區

...

more information

我們的學生

...

more information

圖片集

...

more information

地圖 / 地點

高貴林學區-國際教育 1100 Winslow Avenue Coquitlam, British Columbia Canada V3J 2G3 電子郵件: InternationalEd@SD43.bc.ca 電話: 604 936 5769 傳真: 604 939 6427 The transit...

more information

Questions & Answers

When are schools open in Coquitlam?

The public schools of Coquitlam are open from September to June. Our schools are closed for two weeks in the Spring (Spring Break), two weeks in the winter (Christmas Break) and the two months of July and August (Summer Break).

Do I need to speak fluent English to attend school in Coquitlam?

No, Coquitlam International students are not required to be fluent in English, however some understanding of the language will make your transition to Canada easier. ESL support for international students is provided.

Where will I live?

Students who want to be placed in a home will be referred to a “homestay” service that has screened homes in the Coquitlam area.

What school will I attend?

The International Student Program Office will choose the school you attend based on the information you send us and the space in each school. It is in your best interest to apply as soon as possible to ensure that we will have a school for you.

How do I obtain a student visa?

Visa are issued by Canada Citizen and Immigration, Canadian Embassy or Consulate. Student visas must be applied for outside of Canada. A visitor’s visa allows an individual to study for 6 months only.

How long is the program?

The program is for as long as you would like up to the age of 19. Most students come for two to three years but some come for one year.

Can I receive a British Columbia Secondary school diploma?

Yes, student will receive a British Columbia Dogwood Certificate if they meet all secondary school graduation requirements.

Will I be covered by medical insurance?

Yes, part of the program fee includes the cost of medical insurance. This will insure you for trips to the doctor and any hospital coverage. It will not cover you for dental work unless the work needed to be done is the result of an accident since you have been in Coquitlam.

If I stay for the summer can I continue to receive medical coverage?

Yes, The Coquitlam International Student Program requires you to make a written request at least eight weeks before your intended departure on your intent to stay. If all documents are filled out in a timely manner medical coverage will continue.

What is the weather like in Coquitlam?

The lower mainland of British Columbia, including Coquitlam, has some of the best weather in Canada. Coquitlam is a very temperate community. Summer, spring and fall tend to be warm ( 18 C-30 C) and November-February colder (15 C- 5 C). We Also enjoy an occasional snowfall during these months.

How do I apply?

To apply for the long term program, fill out registration form, submit registration fee of $300 and submit current year and past two years of notarized and translated report cards.

When can I arrive?

If you are planning to begin your studies in September you should arrive at least one week before school starts to get settled in to your “home stay’ and get organized. Your school may want you to attend an orientation session before the start of classes. If you are starting your studies in the second semester you should be prepared to arrive in late January.

Who will meet me at the airport?

You will be met at the airport by your home stay family or your agent.

Are school books and supplies provided?

Textbooks are provided by the school, however, some materials and activities fees may be charged by your school. Students supply their own pens and papers.

What should I bring with me?

In addition to personal supplies and clothes students may want to bring mementos from home (pictures, flag etc.) to show where they are from.

Can my family comes to visit me while I study in Coquitlam?

Yes. We encourage parents to come for a visit. It is advised, however, that parents wait at least two months to allow their student to adjust to their new surroundings. Families are expected to arrange for their own accommodations.

Can I Travel while in Coquitlam?

Yes. Students are able to travel within Canada on school holidays, provided that their health insurance covers travel. Travel to the USA requires a passport and additional travel insurance.

Is transportation provided to and from school?

It depends on where you attend school and how far away you live from school. Students who are eligible for transportation are picked up in the morning and dropped off after school by school buses. Several students travel to and from school using the public transportation system (student is responsible for the cost), while others who live close to their school quite often walk.

Are there recreational opportunities available for students?

Yes. In addition to the many opportunities in music, theatre, dance, clubs and athletics there are nine community centres in the Coquitlam area that offer numerous programs. These centres offer indoor aquatic programs, skating, hockey, waterslide, gymnastics, table tennis, arcade games, movies, cooking, painting, ESL fun, creative writing, book club, kickboxing, karate, dance, yoga, weight training, badminton, basketball, soccer and open gym.

Is driving permitted?

If a student is able to obtain a provincial driver’s license, at their own cost and with parent permission, they may apply to register their car with their school. All school rules apply if they want to take their car to school or to school events.

Can I attend a Canadian university/college upon graduation?

Yes, if you have high enough grades to meet entrance requirements. International students who have been registered in our program for at least four years will not have to write the TOEFL examination to be considered for entrance into a B.C. college or university.


Community

Coquitlam Community Coquitlam is the third largest school district in British Columbia with 31,000 students in 70 schools. The district includes the cities of Coquitlam, Port Moody and Port...

more information

Students

The following is a list of relevant links in our general area: Our students come from all over the world to attend Kindergarten to Grade 12 in Coquitlam School District International Education...

more information

Activities

Recreational Teams & Activities Each school offers a variety of extra-curricular activities and clubs including drama, band, choir, yearbook, skiing, chess and athletic activities as field...

more information

Photo Gallery

...

more information

Maps and Locations

Coquitlam School District - International Education 1100 Winslow Avenue Coquitlam, British Columbia Canada V3J 2G3 Email: InternationalEd@SD43.bc.ca Telephone: 604 936 5769 Facsimile: 604 939...

more information